Thinkdig’s Weblog

I’m Katie, a graphic designer who mostly somersaults through life. My blog is all about things that inspire me – be it art, design, or other snippets i find along the way.

Lost soul?

I recently bought this book, How To Be a Graphic Designer Without Losing Your Soul by Adrian Shaughnessy and foreward by Stefan Sagmeister (quite possibly my favorite designer of all time). After working at my design job for about 8 months, design had lost it’s gradeur. The constant flow of work, the monotony of mindless projects, and super-tight deadlines that are always hanging over my head had gotten me in a rut. Is this really what design is? When do I get to be creative? Shaughnesy’s book, showed me how to find a balance between this all and how to bring out your best in even the crummy jobs. The book also featured some great tips and advice for starting and running your own business. (Which I hope to do someday) I highly recommend this book to any designer out there who is struggling as I am.

41xezayzjbl_ss400_.jpg

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

