Thinkdig’s Weblog

I’m Katie, a graphic designer who mostly somersaults through life. My blog is all about things that inspire me – be it art, design, or other snippets i find along the way.

dusting off the shelves

959493_archives.jpg
One of my lifelong passions has recently been awoken: books! Over the past five years, the love I have for books has fallen by the wayside. While I was in school, my studies and social life took 110% of my free time. Besides the occasional textbook, I had no time for reading. But now that I am finished with school and have moved on to a new stage in my life, I am finding the time to dust off the shelves and get back to reading. I had forgotten just how priceless the feeling of totally immersing myself in a good book feels like. You see, a good book never ends. It stays with you in your heart, in your life. My recent reads include: On Beauty by Zadie Smith and The Bride Stripped Bare by Nikki Gemmell.

Some of my favorite online book stops:

Get Lost Books – Travel books, maps, and gear
Green Apple Books – New and used bookstore, also sells CDs and DVDs
Stout Books – Architectural books
Dog-Eared Books – Independent bookstore in San Francisco
Alibris – Online store selling used, rare, and out-of-print books
Book-By-Its-Cover – Blog featuring book design and illustrations
AbeBooks – Online bookstore with a great blog written by the staff
Goodreads – Blog where you can get recommendations and post your faves

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

