Thinkdig’s Weblog

I’m Katie, a graphic designer who mostly somersaults through life. My blog is all about things that inspire me – be it art, design, or other snippets i find along the way.

the money talks

Since it’s a severely slow day at work today, I decided to work on my personal budget. Money is never something I’ve been very good at, ever since I opened my first checking account when I was 16. It’s not that I am irresponsible about it, it’s more a matter of the importance I place on it. I kind of float through life, not worrying about finances, having faith that it’ll all work out. That mentality is fine if you have a solid base to your bank account, but for people like me, who find themselves living from paycheck to paycheck, it kinda becomes a problem. There’s also the frustration factor. I’m not an avid shopaholic who can’t keep her plastic in her purse. I rarely spend money on expensive, material things that I don’t need. (With one exception from time to time-my hair.) Fresh out of college, I was one of the lucky ones, landing a job immediately upon graduation. I’m getting paid more now than ever before in my life, so what’s the problem? The problem is I also have more bills and debt than ever before in my life. So finding a healthy balance is difficult, yet necessary. In my opinion, money shouldn’t matter. I mean, think back to the barter system. The native americans didn’t have any problems with debt; they were able to make up for what they received in goods or labor. There was an equal balance between giving and taking, and everyone was happy. But in the economy that we’re in now, it seems as if the big dogs keep taking and taking as we keep giving and giving. How far will we go? I decided that I had to get my ducks in a row if I was ever going to get to the things I really want in this life-like traveling. Traveling is one of my passions, and without the proper funding, does not exist in Katie-world. So by being more mindful of my spending, I will cut back on the things that I really don’t need and start putting the coin where it belongs-in the bank.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

