Thinkdig’s Weblog

I’m Katie, a graphic designer who mostly somersaults through life. My blog is all about things that inspire me – be it art, design, or other snippets i find along the way.

finding my roots

genealogy-357-720385

Have you heard of Geni.com?

I was invited by one of my relatives to join his network on the site, and i immediately thought to myself, “oh no, not another one of those stupid networks. I have enough to keep track of between myspace, hotmail, facebook, twitter, and the list goes on.” Yet even though I had my reservations, I decided to give in to my curiosity and accept his request. I AM SO GLAD I DID. It’s an amazing site where you can connect with your relatives, build and view your own family tree, post pictures & message your fam. I have learned so much about my family  heritage through Geni. It’s set up as a forum, where any family member can add information and/or more contacts. There are fantastic stories posted about my great-great-great grandparents (and beyond) as well as the background of the Renshaw name/ancestory. I now can trace my family back to late 1600s!!!

By discovering all theses things about my background and heritage, I have realized just how little I knew before now. Or maybe it’s just that I didn’t care. I never asked my grandparents for the stories. I never took the time to learn about my family blood lines.  And I feel ungrateful because of it. It’s because of them, my ancestors, that I am who I am today. There are traces of all of them in my DNA. Isn’t that weird to think about?

It makes me sad to think about, because I know it’s not just me who’s blowing off their family trees.  I feel like more and more, people are losing touch with their relatives and the great stories and family history is being lost.  If we don’t continue the traditions, then who will?

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

