Thinkdig’s Weblog

I’m Katie, a graphic designer who mostly somersaults through life. My blog is all about things that inspire me – be it art, design, or other snippets i find along the way.

letting go

“we must be willing to let go of the life we planned, so as to have the life that is waiting for us.” – e.m. forster

benjamin

so often do i catch myself trying to control every situation. i have a certain idea in my head of how my life should be, and when it doesn’t go as planned, it can make me angry & frustrated. but lately, i’ve been forced to realize that it’s utterly impossible to be in control of everything.

a week ago, i was in a bad car accident, which left my car totaled. and although i am beyond grateful that myself and my friend, debbie (who was riding passenger), were not injured, i find myself focused on the negatives. being jobless and now carless, i feel like every thought going through my head is “why me?” how can all this bad luck really be for the best?

however challenging it may be, i am convinced that letting go and simply letting life happen moment by moment is the only way to survive it all. i need to accept that even though my life may not be playing out as i had imagined, i am exactly where i need to be. that’s the thrill, right? everything that is supposed to happen, will somehow find a way.

it’s true that i really loved driving that VW, but it’s just a car. in the grand scheme of things, does what kind of car i drive really matter? no. not in the least.

so it’s time to move forward & embrace the changes happening in my life. because every experience, whether good or bad, shapes our character and makes us who we are.
[image via CaptivateMe]

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

